pulsing front brake

Wheels, tires, suspension, forks, and brakes.
Woolsey Dip
I ride: '08 Vulcan 500

pulsing front brake

Postby Woolsey Dip » Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:03 pm

I wonder if I could get some advice. I noticed my front brake "pulsing" when I slowly approached a stop. It was very pronounced. On quicker stops, I don't notice it. I routinely use both brakes for every stop, and I'm a pretty gentle rider -- no sudden or hard stops unless I have to. Is this an issue I can address or do I need to take it in to the shop? I can do basic stuff, but obviously I'm no mechanic. What might be causing this? It's like the disc is warped, but it's not. Or it could have something sticky on it in one place? I don't see or feel anything with my hands, though. Any advice will be much appreciated.

Triangles
Site Admin
I ride: '94 Black Cherry Vulcan 500, '06 Candyfire Red Vulcan 500 LTD

Re: pulsing front brake

Postby Triangles » Fri Apr 15, 2011 12:56 pm

the front brake is pretty simple. it's a hydraulic piston that squeezes the pads on the rotor. There is nothing to my knowledge other than the rotor that would cause pulsing. What you may be describing is the noise made by the brake pads sliding over the holes in the rotor. When slowing from expressway speeds it can sound like "angry bees" depending on how much brake pressure you apply.

does the braking pulse as if you were squeesing and releasing the brake lever extremely rapid or is it just noise but the braking force is consistent? If it's just noise, it's probably normal as described above and I wouldn't worry about it. If the braking force is pulsing then you probably have a warped rotor. I have no idea what else it could be. Let us know what you figure out.
ImageImage

Woolsey Dip
I ride: '08 Vulcan 500

Postby Woolsey Dip » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:59 am